I discovered this image by the photographer David Et Myrtyle.I was inspired by this image because i felt it captured the feeling of drugs.  I like this photo in particular as it can be used to show someone being on a high, with their head in the clouds or dreaming etc. But it can also work for anxiety, paranoia and even confusion. 
The photograp itself is simple. I like the plain background and the soft subtle colors highlighted in the flocked wallpaper. The models clothing is also quite subtle and blends with the background. This brings the viewers focus to the clouds and the movement of the models head. I like the hair being wrapped around over her face, this shows movement of the head which again links in well with my theme as it shows excitement, movement and friction. The colour is desaturated in areas which has given the photograph a painterly effect.  The composition is interesting because the main portrait figure sits in the bottom half of the canvas. The top half of the image is juts blank canvas. This adds to the narrative affect of the image. It is not a straight forward portrait. The photographer is trying to convey a narrative, tell a story.

I feel the obscured face of the model makes the viewer question the image. Who is she? What is happening?. If the models face was apparant i dont think this image would have the same impact.

In order to create a similar image, i am going to use a slow shutter speed. This should aid the movement of the image. The clouds overlaid look as if they are passing in the opposite direction. I feel as if she is trying to shake off the clouds to get a clear perspective.  Unfortuanely i am unable to find a simialr flocked wallpaper. Instead i will take a studio shot using a softbox. I will overlay a blending mode and texture. Completing a similar shot will allow me to hone my photography portrait skills and photoshop manipulation. This will allow me to develop and realsie my own ideas.



Leave a Reply.